Manage S3 Servers
The following section will outline the procedures used to create, edit, and delete Hammerspace S3 servers.
Create an S3 Server
The following steps outline how to create an S3 server using the Create S3 Server wizard.
-
Navigate to S3 Servers from the cluster Administration menu and click Create S3 Server.
-
Provide a unique name for the S3 server in the Name field; note that the Endpoint field will automatically be populated, but can be edited with whatever endpoint FQDN you prefer. Complete the following steps to complete step 1:
-
Select an Identity Provider, either Local for local Hammerspace users or Active Directory, to specify an AD user.
-
Set the S3 access permissions at this time, which can be public, group-based (based on the Unix group membership of the uploading user), or private to limit access to only the uploading user.
-
Configure the other optional settings as desired. Click Create to create only the S3 server without any buckets or access keys, or select Next to move to step 3.
-
|
|
Your S3 server has been created. You are ready to create buckets or, if needed, make changes to the S3 server using the pencil icon to the far right of the S3 server name.
Edit an S3 Server Configuration
To edit the configuration of an existing S3 server, navigate to the S3 Servers tab in the cluster Administration menu.
Click the Pencil icon in the Actions column for the S3 server.
Most of the settings can be changed in the Edit S3 server configuration window, excluding the bucket name or identity provider.
Delete an S3 Server
In this section, we will discuss how to delete a Hammerspace S3 server. Keep in mind that deleting a server does not delete any data, including S3 folders and their contents. It only deletes the server and S3 bucket configuration. Additionally, bucket folders and their contents can be removed manually (if desired), but this should only be done if the bucket endpoint is deleted.
-
To delete an S3 server, navigate to the S3 Servers tab in the cluster Administration menu and click on the X icon under the Actions column for the S3 server.
-
Type the S3 server name and click the Delete S3 server configuration button to complete the deletion process.